August 22, 2024 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Understanding compressed air, cost and air quality

Compressed air is the energy of choice to power many industrial applications and processes. Compressed air is vital to the productivity of manufacturing (and many other) industries around the globe.

While air is freely available anywhere, compressed air is different. It can be compressed to higher pressures, stored as energy and used to perform many types of work processes. Compressed air is considered a power source like gas, electricity and water, and is frequently referred to as the “fourth utility.”

Compressed air can be stored, used in challenging situations and will function in extreme applications. Keeping its quality consistent and compressors working effectively can be a challenge, and understanding particulate size, humidity and a host of other factors is important.


Learning objectives:

  • Learn about the various compressed air standards, which might include: ISO 8573-1 and ISA 7.4 (air quality standards) and other specifications.
  • Understand how air quality for compressor systems is important, and how to manage.
  • Calculate the cost of compressed air in different situations.
  • Review the various ways in which compressed air can be applied.

Presented By:
Tom Taranto, Principal Engineer and Owner, Data Power Services LLC
Eric Bessey, President, TTed Solutions

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, WTWH Media

Meet Our Sponsors