August 1, 2024 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

How to automate: The mechanics of loop tuning

1 CERTIFIED PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT HOUR (PDH) AVAILABLE UPON SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF AN EXAM

Young engineers and those with more experience will benefit from looking at control system loop tuning from a fresh, experienced and slightly irreverent perspective. It’s an industry mantra that control loops need to be tuned, but are your problems really tuning problems? Keep yourself out of trouble by asking six key questions. Gain insights into working with operators on loop tuning without upsetting the process. Think you’re finished? Did you close your loop-tuning session properly? Join us in this PID tuning tutorial to learn and ask your most pressing questions.


Learning objectives:

  • Explore the six things you should look for before you start tuning: Is it really a tuning problem?
  • Understand the etiquette for working with operators.
  • Review steps to take to avoid upsetting the process while tuning.
  • How to close out a loop tuning session properly.

Presented By:
Ed Bullerdiek, Process Control Engineer, retired

Moderated By:
Mark Hoske, Content Manager, Control Engineering, WTWH Media