July 18, 2024 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Arc flash mitigation requirements: dispelling myths, implementing best practices

Understand the portions of NFPA 70: National Electrical Code that guide the design of electrical systems while mitigating arc flash.

ATTENDEES QUALIFY FOR A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION OR 0.1 CONTINUING EDUCATIONAL UNITS (CEU) AFTER SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF A TEST FOR MYSCHNEIDER PORTAL MEMBERS.

NFPA 70: National Electrical Code identifies how electrical engineers should design systems to mitigate arc flash, and NFPA 70E: Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace is used by operations and maintenance staff to protect personnel by reducing exposure to major electrical hazards. What portion of each is important for electrical engineers to understand when designing electrical systems?

How are NFPA 70 and 70E applied — and sometimes misapplied? Just how can a system design be optimized for arc flash safety?

This session will give an in-depth look at the code and standard requirements for arc flash safety and common misconceptions, and how electrical engineers can design for optimized arc flash safety.


Learning objectives:

  • Learn to perform an arc flash hazard calculation using IEEE 1584: Guide for Performing Arc Flash Hazard Calculations.
  • Gain insights on which portions of NFPA 70: National Electrical Code to reference when designing an electrical system.
  • Understand common misconceptions about arc flash, and how to avoid the pitfalls associated with designing to mitigate them.
  • Apply several effective methods for arc flash mitigation in power system design.

Presented By:
Bill Brown, Chief Engineer in Consulting Services, Schneider Electric

Moderated By:
Gary Cohen, Content Manager, WTWH Media

Meet Our Sponsors