Siemens exec named to Fieldbus board

By Plant Engineering Staff April 7, 2006

The Fieldbus Foundation has named Hans-Georg Kumpfmueller, president of the Siemens AG Process Instrumentation & Analytics Division, to its board of directors.

In addition to Chairman John Berra of Emerson Process Management, current foundation members include: Kenneth Deken, Rockwell Automation; David Eisner, Honeywell; Motofumi Matsumura, Fuji; Shuzo Kaihori, Yokogawa; Jim Porter, DuPont; Claude Ricaud, Schneider Electric; Ron Szanyi, ExxonMobil; Mark Taft, ABB; Hirozume Sone, Yamatake Corporation, John Eva, Invensys; and Kumpfmueller.

“Hans-Georg Kumpfmueller will be a valuable asset to our organization as a director. He is a well-respected industry figure with extensive experience in the fields of instrumentation and analytical sciences,” said Fieldbus Foundation president and CEO Richard Timoney. “We welcome his contributions to the Fieldbus Foundation, as well as the continued support of Siemens AG.”

Kumpfmueller holds a degree in electronics engineering, and has an extensive career history in the automation industry. He first worked at Grundig in the field of oscilloscopes and semi-professional video cameras. He joined the Siemens Automotive Systems Group in 1981, and was involved in the development of electronic controllers such as electronic diesel injection, all-wheel drive and anti-lock braking systems (ABS). Since 2000, he has served as president of the Siemens Process Instrumentation & Analytics Division.