Bentley honors infrastructure excellence with Be Inspired awards

Global engineers, planners honored at event

By Bob Vavra October 16, 2009

Bentley Systems presented the 2009 Be Inspired awards at a dinner and awards event at its conference in Charlotte, NC on Oct. 13. The awards honor the work of Bentley users improving and sustaining the world’s infrastructure.
CEO Greg Bentley said, "The Be Inspired Awards honor and celebrate outstanding infrastructure projects from around the globe. Each is benchmark-setting, accomplished through innovative information modeling technology and best practices, successfully implemented by talented and imaginative infrastructure professionals.
The Be Inspired Award winners for 2009 are:
Innovation in Bridges
o WSP Finland Ltd – Ngyuen Van Troi-Tran Thi Ly Bridge
Innovation in Building
o NBBJ – Miami Valley Hospital
Innovation in Cadastre and Land Development
o KASL Consulting Engineers – Metro Fire Station No. 29
Innovation in Campuses, Airports, and Military Installations
o CH2M HILL – Phase 1: O’Hare Modernization Program
Innovation in Communications Networks
o Precision Contracting Services, Inc. – City of Port St. Lucie Fiber Optic Network Design
Innovation in Mining and Metals
o Hatch Africa (Pty) Ltd – QMM Ilmenite Project
Innovation in Oil and Gas
o Cianbro Constructors – Motiva Crude Expansion Project
Innovation in Power Generation
o Energoprojekt Gliwice, S.A. – Central Solar PS20
Innovation in Rail and Transit
o Parsons Brinckerhoff – Central Phoenix/East Valley Light Rail System
Innovation in Roads
o Creighton Manning Engineering, LLP – Route 85 Slingerlands Bypass Extension
Innovation in Utilities
o Huntsville Utilities – An Integrated Implementation of ProjectWise, Bentley Expert Designer, and SAP
Innovation in Water or Wastewater Treatment Plants
o CDM – Casa Grande Water Recovery and Reuse Project
Innovation in Water, Wastewater, and Stormwater Networks
o Government of Maharashtra, Water Supply and Sanitation Department – Crisis Management of Water Supply in Developing Countries
Communicating Through Visualization
o Mott MacDonald Ltd – The Model Railway
Connecting Project Teams
o Engevix Engenharia S.A. – Hydropower Plant Coqueiros
Innovation in Generative Design
o Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios LLP – Worcester Library and History Centre
Innovation in Structural Engineering
o Edge Structures Ltd – Wimbledon Centre Court Redevelopment and Retractable Roof
Bentley has posted highlights of this year’s winning projects on its website and will include detailed descriptions of all nominated projects in the print and digital versions of The Year in Infrastructure 2009, which is being published next month. The digital versions of this award-winning publication are searchable across more than 1,000 world-class projects recognized in the Be Inspired Awards program since 2004. To review the last five editions, visit

Author Bio: Bob is the Content Manager for Plant Engineering.