Webcast
Plant Engineering

Increase Reliability and Decrease Cost with the New Generation of Medium Voltage Switchgear

Thursday, October 6, 2016, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
Attendees qualify for a Certificate of Completion

Click here to register.

The electrical industry is seeing a number of trends affecting medium voltage power network design including workforce shifts, capital and operational expenditure sensitivity, equipment space issues, and the continual need for better personnel and asset safety. In order to address these needs we need innovation that raises the bar in medium voltage distributions switchgear design.

First, we need to address reliability by increasing the life expectancy of switchgear. We can do this through innovations that extend maintenance cycles and better protect key components from environmental factors that degrade switchgear performance and life expectancy. Secondly, we need to address project costs from multiple angles including ease of design to decrease engineering man-hours, ease of installation to decrease technician man-hours, and decreasing maintenance in order to save operational cost over switchgear lifetime.

Learning Objectives:

  • Corona discharge and its effects on reliability
  • Loose joints and how it drives maintenance intervals
  • Racking draw-out breakers and new alternatives

Speakers:

Presenter: Jeff Jordan, Offer Manager for Metal-Enclosed Products, Schneider-Electric
Moderator: Mark T. Hoske, Content Manager and Editor for Control Engineering and CFE Media

Register Now!

 

Sponsored by:
Schneider Electric

 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -