Arc Flash University Webcast: A comprehensive approach to mitigation

DuPont's Lanny Floyd to focus on processes and systems to avoid arc flash dangers in Nov. 18 Webcast.

10/26/2010


Plant Engineering will present the fourth installment of the 2010 Arc Flash University series, “Mitigation: A Comprehensive Approach, on Thursday November 18 at 2 p.m. EST/1 p.m. CST/11 a.m. PT. Click here to register.
 Increasing awareness that the electric arc flash hazard is uniquely different from the long recognized electric shock hazard is largely attributed to the evolution and publicity associated with NFPA70E, Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace. NFPA70E addresses administrative and personal protective equipment hazard control measures, but does not provide guidance in engineering control measures of elimination and substitution. In order to design a comprehensive arc flash hazards mitigation program, we must look beyond NFPA70E and consider guidance in safety management systems standards such as ANSI Z10, Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems.

This Webcast provides a roadmap to aide planning, design and implementation of a comprehensive and effective arc flash hazards mitigation program, from initial assessment to program audit. It addresses essential elements of planning and continuous improvement including:

· Interim measures to help protect workers while designing a permanent program.
· Relevant standards to consider when designing the program
· The critical role of arc hazard assessments
· Elements for sustainable performance
· Measuring and monitoring quality and effectiveness.

Presenters will include Lanny Floyd II, PE, CSP, CMRP, Fellow IEEE, Principal Consultant, Electrical Safety & Technology, DuPont, Wilmington, DE. The Webcast will be moderated by Bob Vavra, Content Manager for Plant Engineering.

Click here to register. 



No comments